Dixon Building

Fitz Eugene Dixon, Jr. Education Building

Located to the north of the Sculpture Garden is the Dixon Building. Originally designed by William Manly King (1886-1961) in the 1920s as the Palm Beach Public School, The Four Arts acquired the building in 2012. King studied architecture in Georgia before moving to Florida in 1921 to work under Addison Mizner. He is best remembered for the many school buildings and hotels he designed across Palm Beach County.

The renovations were overseen by architect Harry Elson of New York, who worked with the projects’ architect of record, Keith Spina of Glidden Spina + Partners in West Palm Beach. a renovation project that preserved the school’s exterior while modernizing its 20,000-square foot interior, the Dixon Building opened in 2013 as the new home of the Campus on the Lake (COL). COL was established by former Four Arts director Ervin Duggan in 2001 to offer cultural and educational programs that explore art, drama, literature, and music, and the art of living well. COL programs were originally held in the King Library, but their popularity soon outgrew the space.

The building is named in honor of Fitz Eugene Dixon, Jr., a former chairman of The Four Arts who oversaw a period of great expansion. Please visit www.fourarts.org/campusonthelakeprograms to learn more. 

NOTE: The Dixon Building is closed to the public May - September.